Just Play the Game

By S. Samek

Recently I picked up the book Just Watch the Game by John Steigerwald as well as its companion Just watch the game (Again). Both tell of the Pittsburgh sports reporters experiences as a reporter and in his youth. Steigerwald primary joy in most of his experiences come from the fact that he was able to be at the stadium and just watch the game without the bells and whistles we enjoy today.

I enjoyed both books being a Pittsburgh Sports fan and an aspiring sports broadcaster and reporter. So, the experiences and stories really hit home for me.

In the first chapter of book one I learned about how Roberto Clemente hit a walk-off grand slam, which I now know is called an ultimate grand slam. Though this was the second one hit that season by the Pirates. Unique story I’d never heard before.  I also enjoyed reading about other Pittsburgh sports icons Chuck Noll, Dave Parker, Terry Bradshaw and a host more. Though I must say that the best story came from Steigerwald’s treatment of Mr. Rodgers. I laughed a good bit during both books where Mr. Rodgers was mentioned. If you’re a fan of Yinzer culture of any variety the book will have you covered.

Another thing I really enjoyed was the opinion sharing. Steigerwald does a good job of stating his opinion and backing it up enthusiasm. He really believes in his thoughts even if they are unpopular. It makes for some funny banter when combined with some of the stories he tells.

The final thing I really enjoyed from the book was the experiences in the broadcast field stories. Being a future broadcaster I learned a lot about what it takes to get to a high level in the field. From taking jobs in the minor leagues, or middle of nowhere markets to get to Pittsburgh. It gave me a perspective as to what to expect to get to where I want to get to. The most important lesson that I learned from the experiences is to just keep improving and getting better even if the money isn’t the biggest. It’s about enjoying the ride and the experiences.

I would recommend reading both of these books. Each one is equally filled with great stories and experiences unique to each one. The other cool thing is you can read the chapters or even the books out of order. Though I recommend reading the books in order so you understand some of the mentions in the second book. Plus, it’s an easy read you won’t want to put down. Pittsburgh sports fans be sure to check out the set. Overall 10/10 and highly recommend.

 

Author: Hammer Down Sports Blog

Sports analysis with a strong foundation.

Leave a Reply

